Taking my first step to “Learning”

I must say, the first step is usually, the scariest – we are moving forward to an unfamiliar way, embracing challenges and difficulties.

I am a Senior Analyst in a multinational firm and I handle real-time pricing information update, fundamentals content, news stories and articles publication, trainings and seminars, and day-to-day operations maintenance. Last year, I decided to follow my passion and enrolled at UPOU taking six units (EDS 111 and EDS 103) despite of my very hectic schedule.

This is my first time to enroll in a DE program and I have realized that it’s no easy task. At first, I thought, it’s easier compared to the traditional face-to-face classroom setting. We would be able to manage our time – knowing where and when to study, identify the pace of learning, avoid the hassle of travel and going to school, and cope with the demands of work.

With my first week of learning, I was overwhelmed and amazed at the same time. I have realized that in order to benefit from this, I should know that “Learning is more than just the desire to learn and devoting time and effort. You also have to utilize effective learning strategy.” (Stephen Chow on How to Get the Most Out of Studying: A Video Series http://www.samford.edu/how-to-study/)

I enjoyed the video series the most as it helped me understand the different learning strategies people use. Chow was able to highlight the difference between shallow and deep level processing and how this affect our understanding of the learnings presented. In order for us to maximize the learnings, we should start processing our thoughts and ideas in a deeper level. He states that “What you think about while studying is the most important factor in successful learning.” This holds much truth as I have realized in my own personal experience that I often find myself re-reading certain portions if I am distracted with other things. We should learn how to focus and read with comprehension. It would also be a good help to know the different learning styles and determine the most suitable for your learning needs.

As an online learner, I have realized that one of the greatest challenge is expressing your thoughts well in writing – as this is the only medium of communication possible. The written material we submit serves as the basis whether we fully understand a topic or not. There are instances wherein we perfectly understood the topic but finds difficulty relaying the same. With this, I know the DE learning program will not just deliver the course, but will also help develop one’s communication and analytical skills.

I am very excited and nervous at the same time but with the help of the different learning materials provided in the site, together with my professor and classmates’ support, I know, I will be able to achieve my goals.

Wish me luck and looking forward to more learnings ahead!  🙂

Leave a comment