The Six Critical Questions

While I was doing the Jo-Hari window (a model used to better understand one’s self by reflection and feedback from others), I remember a friend telling me I used to think way too deep that I tend to complicate things. With this, I have come to realize that I have developed my critical thinking skills and apply it actually on a daily basis. I am usually curious with the things around me and asks a lot of questions.

The below questions can guide us digest the information presented and develop deep understanding:

Critical thinking questions

Photo retrieved Mar 21, 2015 from http://www.knowledgereform.com/2015/01/14/critical-thinking-6-critical-questions-to-think-about/

WHO – Most of the time we give weight and importance as to who is our source of information. Is he/she credible enough to make us believe the things he/she is saying? This depends primarily on the context of information that we are about to receive. In the school setting, the most credible person in the eyes of the learners is no other than the teacher. In the workplace, it might be the top management or subject-matter-experts (SME) for technical knowledge. At home, it might be our parents or our older siblings. Good personal relationship between the giver of information and its audience can also help achieve effective knowledge transmission. As a senior analyst and trainer, my colleagues have considered me as their “go-to” person in times of uncertainty. I have noticed that people would tend to believe from tenured analysts and those with higher ranks as compared to new joiners.

WHAT – This question is indeed one of the most critical as it pertains to what information is being transmitted. Here, we have to pay attention as to what type of information they are giving. Are these plain facts, opinions, or point-of-views? We have to distinguish as these information will be later on processed in our respective cognitive faculties. If what have been communicated are merely opinions and point-of-views, we have to evaluate as to whether these are strong enough to be adopted, or disregarded if not. Usually, before making decisions, I ask for the opinions of people around me. I believe that welcoming ideas from people would widen our options and thus arrive to better decisions. It’s always good to hear different perspectives as it’s not all the time that what we thought or believed to be the best way is actually the best. Sometimes I will find myself amazed and would say “why didn’t I consider that?” Two heads are better than one, as they say.

WHERE – The physical setting where the transmission of knowledge took place also plays an important role. Was it in a formal learning environment like the classroom or training room or done elsewhere? In our classroom management topic, we have tackled the importance of physiological setting to help achieve effective teaching. We must be able to provide a healthy physical environment that is conducive to learning – the lights, room temperature, seating arrangements, visibility, noise, etc. From my own experience, I learn best when it’s quiet and the room is properly lit. I am easily distracted by people talking so I opt to listen to music while I am reading my modules.

WHEN – The time when sharing of information took place should also be considered. Was it before, after or during an event, first thing in the morning or at night? For decision-making situations, I usually seek advice before I arrive into a final decision. I talk to my peers and gather information through research that could help me think critically. On the other hand, for evaluations and reflections, I ask for feedback during or at the end of the learning activity. I have noticed also that I am more productive in the morning than at night. With the demands of my work and school, it’s very difficult to squeeze everything with limited time. I have to work for extended hours, allot some time for travel and then read my modules. As the pattern is quite different from the way I perceive to learn best, I took naps and rest for a while so my mind will be conditioned before I study my notes.

WHY – This refers to the purpose of giving information and is related to the type of information being transmitted (WHAT). For trainers like me, the purpose would always be to teach something not known to learners. It may cover trainings on the daily operations needed to be acquired or workshops that could contribute to their own personal development. There are instances also when sharing of information takes places in an informal environment. A good example would be when my friends and I are talking about a particular topic over lunch. Here, different ideas are being shared and exchanged, without the formal intent of learning or acquiring information.

HOW – This question answers the way information is delivered to recipients. Was it through a lecture, read from a printed material, or watched from a television? The medium used for sharing the information could also impact learner’s understanding. For example, using a language not known to all may hinder the delivery of message. In order to avoid this, we should use subtitles that translate the information to the language that can be easily understood. Knowledge of the English language would serve as an advantage as this is almost understood by all. In the workplace, I also provide trainings across different countries. I can say that the geographical and language barriers impact the learning experience. With trainings done over the phone, it’s quite difficult and challenging as compared to providing trainings via face-to-face in a classroom setting. The time to learn and acquire everything is much longer as compared to my trainees in Manila. There are times when there are technical issues like phone lines are not audible enough or the remote computer screens are not functioning properly.

The above-mentioned are just few of the basic questions one can ask once a new information has been presented. These, together with the learner’s preferred learning styles, personalities and behaviors shape the overall learning experience. I believe that interests also play an important role. When we are passionate about something, we are motivated enough to learn and immerse ourselves into the experience. Intrinsic motivation, for me, is more powerful than those driven by external factors. We are doing things because we love to, and not because we are required to do so or we are just after the reward we might get. When these things are taken away, there is nothing to look forward to anymore.

Nothing beats doing your heart’s desire. 🙂

Photo retrieved Mar 21, 2015 from http://imgkid.com/finding-your-passion-quotes.shtml

Photo retrieved Mar 21, 2015 from http://imgkid.com/finding-your-passion-quotes.shtml

Leave a comment